Passionflower
Passiflora incarnata
145mg
Calming: GABA-A activity in lab work, plus small human trials before surgery or dental work and for sleep.
Formula · label & actives
Nerve Honey's panel lists five herbs with an amount on every line: passionflower 145 mg, marshmallow root 110 mg, corydalis powder 100 mg, prickly pear 20:1 extract 50 mg and California poppy seed 45 mg, 450 mg per two capsules, with no proprietary blend.
Updated November 6, 2026Checked against the printed label
This is the Supplement Facts panel from the bottle image on the seller's sales page, typed out so you can search it. Every active line carries an amount, which is less common than it should be in this category: many nerve formulas hide their doses inside a proprietary blend.
| Ingredient as printed | Botanical name | Plant part on label | Amount per 2 capsules | % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Passionflower | Passiflora incarnata | Not stated | 145 mg | Not established |
| Marshmallow root | Althaea officinalis | Root | 110 mg | Not established |
| Corydalis powder | Corydalis yanhusuo | Not stated | 100 mg | Not established |
| Prickly pear 20:1 extract | Opuntia phaeacantha | Not stated | 50 mg | Not established |
| California poppy seed | Eschscholzia californica | Seed | 45 mg | Not established |
| Total actives | 450 mg |
Other ingredients: Microcrystalline cellulose, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (capsule), magnesium stearate. These are standard capsule fillers and flow agents. Despite the product's name, the label lists no honey, and it lists no vitamins or minerals.
Passiflora incarnata
145mg
Calming: GABA-A activity in lab work, plus small human trials before surgery or dental work and for sleep.
Althaea officinalis
110mg
Soothing mucilage: the EU herbal monograph covers dry cough and mild stomach upset, not nerves.
Corydalis yanhusuo
100mg
Pain signalling: alkaloids (THP, dehydrocorybulbine) blunt pain in rodents; one small human cold-pain test paired it with angelica.
Opuntia phaeacantha
50mg
Antioxidant pigments: this wild species is studied as a fruit in food chemistry; the human data use a different Opuntia.
Eschscholzia californica
45mg
Calming alkaloids from the flowering herb act on GABA-A receptors in lab work; the one human trial mixed it with hawthorn and magnesium.
The line reads simply "Passionflower 145 mg". Federal labeling rules expect a botanical line to name the part of the plant used[1]; for passionflower that is normally the aerial parts. Without an extract ratio or a marker such as vitexin, you cannot tell whether 145 mg is a light pinch of dried leaf or a concentrated extract, and trial doses were given as defined extracts.
Corydalis yanhusuo is used as the dried tuber. The label says "powder" without naming the part or the tetrahydropalmatine content, which is the alkaloid behind both its pain research and its liver warnings[2]. A lot-specific certificate of analysis would answer this; none is published.
A 20:1 ratio means about 20 parts of raw material went into each part of finished extract, so 50 mg stands for roughly 1,000 mg of starting plant. The label does not say whether that plant material was fruit, pad or flower, and the species, Opuntia phaeacantha, is a wild one with food-chemistry data rather than supplement trials[3].
Studies of California poppy's calming alkaloids use the flowering aerial parts[4]. Seeds are a different tissue with a different chemical profile, and we found no human data on poppy seed for any outcome.
This is the one line that names its part properly. Its traditional uses are cough and gut irritation[5], so it reads more like a soothing filler than a nerve active.
A supplement may describe how an ingredient supports a body structure or function, with the FDA disclaimer attached, but may not claim to treat a disease such as diabetic neuropathy[6]. The Nerve Honey sales page stays mostly within "nerve comfort" and "healthy nerve function" wording. The bottle front also shows three icons, "nerve support", "circulation support" and "natural formula", none of which is a measured property.
Because every amount is printed, you can price the herbs directly. The 6-bottle pack brings the cost of a 450 mg serving to $1.63.
| Pack | Paid at checkout | Cost per 450 mg serving | Cost per 100 mg of herbs |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2 bottles | $167.99 | $2.80 | $0.62 |
| 3 bottles | $207 | $2.30 | $0.51 |
| 6 bottles | $294 | $1.63 | $0.36 |
The exact five-herb list, with the same five amounts, is sold as Neuro Salt, and the same herbs appear in other nerve capsules such as Nerve Fresh, NerveCalm and Nervetin. Shared private-label formulas are normal in this market. It means the name on the bottle tells you less than the panel does: compare panels and refund terms, not brand stories.
Nerve Honey contains none of the nutrients most often studied for nerve symptoms: no alpha-lipoic acid[7], no vitamin B12 (relevant if you take metformin)[8], no benfotiamine, no acetyl-L-carnitine. That is not a defect in itself, since it is a herbal formula, but it matters if you expected a nutrient product.